Sepia Scenes of Snow in South Carolina!

For more beautiful Sepia photos, please visit SEPIA SCENES!

It snowed here in the Lowcountry of South Carolina–something that happens about once every ten years.  Though this wasn’t a record snowfall, it was enough to break plenty of branches. 

This is looking over a salt marsh towards the Ben Sawyer Bridge [under construction, hence all the lights].  I guess they worked on that bridge even while it snowed.

This is the old bridge that went to Sullivan’s Island.  Everything was plastered with snow and a little ice.  The wind didn’t help with long exposures, seemingly blowing only after I pressed the remote shutter release…

Palm trees don’t do well with snow. In fact, they look silly in the snow.  This was taken at 3:30 in the morning; luckily, no one was awake so there was no traffic and I could stand in the middle of the slushy road without worry.

I would have loved to get into downtown Charleston for some snow pictures, but there’s a large bridge in the way.

Thank you for visiting!

5 thoughts on “Sepia Scenes of Snow in South Carolina!

  1. These are fantastic sepia images, especially the 1st one – I love that shot! I hope everyone will enlarge it to see the detail in it – I really like how some of the branches are blurred & some are clear! Great capture!

  2. Thanks all! I do like the first one, too. I think that might have been the only time the wind cooperated well. The last one I tried to soften some, but golly darn I didn’t see the powerlines. I think if they weren’t there it could have seems 1800s-esque. I tried for a good snow covered palm tree shot, but they move too much in the wind.

Leave a Reply

