Went to Rapid City today, but only took pictures of the Badlands…

So today, I went to Rapid to the grocery store and various other places [purchased a sweatshirt, because it is STILL cold and chilly here].  I found out grocery stores will ream you if you don’t get their darn little plastic card…

I don’t really have any pictures today even though I went to Bear Country….I couldn’t find a reason to digitally capture the horror of that place…too many fat bears wearing neurotic paths around fences and chewing on white bread and donuts…I’m not sure why they feel compelled to breed these guys, either.  But that is not my official opinion of the place.  It is a good place to learn about bears, wildlife conservation, and entertain the kids for a few hours….

Anyway, went hiking on the Saddle Pass/Medicine Root/Castle circuit yesterday.  It took us a good three hours to do it, on account of problematic grass and flower identifications…

The purely nasty weather took a break, to only be partly nasty, so it was a nice evening to be out. 

The sky looks like it has a hole in it…

With the cloud cover, it seems there are more flowers out, or at least, they don’t wither as quickly since they can’t tell what time of day it is. 

I can’t remember what type of penstemon these are, but they were nice.  They are in the snapdragon family.  It was too late in the day to catch any goatsbeard [western salsify], but there was a lot of creamy poisonvetch to be found.  Luckily, it doesn’t stink when the sun is hiding.

The sun did make an appearance at the end of the walk.

I’m putting this one in to show how prevalent the yellow sweet clover is…it’s an invasive that dries out in the fall and creates quite the fire hazard.

This is the type of sunset and view that people make myths about.  Every now and then, you’ll hear a fantastic story about the formations turning blood red with stripe all over the place…I guess this is about as close as you can get.

I could see how over time the memory could make this more vivid, sort of like when you were a child and a certain thing seemed huge, but as an adult, it wasn’t so impressive.  I guess the sunset would be the reverse of that.

You can see a power pole in this picture.  It goes down the wall, into a place appropriately called Power Pole Canyon.  It isn’t passable anymore, I don’t believe, but you used to be able to climb from the lower prairie to the upper through that canyon.

I’ve got more pictures than words.  Hopefully, I can get some better pictures soon.  I can’t turn my camera vertically too often without it going crazy on me.  In a week, that might change!

So I leave you with a lovely clump of evening primrose.  It’s rather a large clump!  Enjoy!!  :)

Leave a Reply

